Municipalities and Zones

Being updated in accordance with the Law Decree n. 124/2023, establishing the Special Economic Zone for Southern Italy – “Unified SEZ”

The Eastern Sicily Special Economic Zone is included in a huge logistic and manufacturing area, identified as “SEZ Italy”, which constitutes a new investment and growth opportunity for Southern Italy and the entire nation.

The chart below shows the 8 SEZ areas identified, with details of the municipalities involved.

SEZ – Special Economic Zones

The SEZs instituted for Eastern Sicily lie within the territories of 39 municipalities and are identified by wholly or partially involved territorial units (cadastral parcels).

The municipalities are located within the regional Districts of Messina, Catania, Siracusa, Enna, Ragusa and Caltanissetta.

The territories which fall within a SEZ area are eligible for the derogation under Article 107, par. 3, point c) of the Treaty on the Functioning of the EU and identified by the Regional Aid Map in force for the period 2014-2021.

Please consult the “Geolocation Platform” page of this website to view all the areas that constitute the Eastern Sicily SEZ.

The “Geolocation Platform” allows users to know Sezs geographical positioning, cadastral data, infrastructural characteristics, distances from the main logistical hubs, constraining regulations.

List of Eastern Sicily Sez municipalities:

  • Acireale
  • Augusta
  • Avola
  • Belpasso
  • Caltagirone
  • Carlentini
  • Catania
  • Comiso
  • Assoro
  • Enna
  • Floridia
  • Francoforte
  • Gela
  • Lentini
  • Melilli
  • Messina
  • Milazzo
  • Monforte San Giorgio
  • Pace del Mela
  • San Pier Niceto
  • San Filippo del Mela
  • Militello Val di Catania
  • Mineo
  • Niscemi
  • Pachino
  • Palazzolo Acreide
  • Paternò
  • Pozzallo
  • Modica
  • Priolo Gargallo
  • Ragusa
  • Rosolini
  • Scordia
  • Siracusa
  • Solarino
  • Troina
  • Villafranca Tirrena
  • Vittoria
  • Vizzini